Ryon’s States

Ryon has been researching all 50 US states and Territories to learn more about our country.

  • Alaska
    becoming organized as a territory on May 11, 1912. It was admitted as the 49th state of the U.S. on January 3, 1959. Juneau, city and borough, capital (since 1906) of Alaska. Everyone knows that Alaska is massive, At 663,300 square miles. The state is bordered by Canada on the east, the Beaufort Sea and the Arctic Ocean in the north, the Bering Sea and the Chukchi Sea in the … Read more
  • California
    California was founded on September 9, 1850. the capital of California is Sacramento. California is approximately 163,696 square miles. California borders Oregon to the north, Nevada, Arizona to the east, and the Mexican state of Baja California to the south. It has a coastline along the Pacific Ocean to the west.  Population California has the most electoral votes with 55 California mails a ballot to every registered voter a few weeks before the election. California … Read more
  • Florida
    Florida became a territory in 1822 and became a state in 1845. The capital of Florida is Tallahassee. Florida is 65,758 square miles. Florida borders Georgia, Alabama, the Gulf of Mexico, and the Atlantic ocean. Florida has 29 electoral votes. A voter ID tells if a person is eligible to vote.91% of the population of Florida is rural.9% of the people of Florida are rural.The average household … Read more
  • Maryland
    Maryland became a state in 1776. The capital of Maryland is called Annapolis. Maryland is 12,406 square miles Maryland has 10 electoral votes. Maryland’s population is 5,773,552. A voter ID tells if a person is eligible to vote. The population of Maryland is 87% urban and 13% rural. The average household income in Maryland is 94,384The homeschooling laws are School Required for Ages:  5–18, the notification is … Read more
  • Montana
    Montana was founded on November 8, 1889. The capital of Montana is Helena. Montana has a area of 147,040 square miles Montana is bordered by Canada in the north, North Dakota and South Dakota in the east, Wyoming and Idaho in the south Population Montana has 3 electoral votes Montana allows any voter to request a ballot by mail. You can also vote in person. Montana offers … Read more
  • North Carolina
    On November 21, 1789, North Carolina ratified the Constitution to become the twelfth state in the Union. the capital of North Carolina was Edenton from 1722-1766, New Bern, was the second capital of North Carolina and Raleigh. North Carolina is 52,672 square miles. North Carolina borders the Atlantic Ocean to the east, Virginia to the north, Tennessee to the west, and Georgia and South Carolina to the south. North Carolina … Read more
  • South Carolina
    South Carolina ratified the U.S. Constitution on May 23, 1788; it was the eighth of the original 13 states to join the Union. Columbia, city, capital of South Carolina. The first meeting of the South Carolina Assembly in the Charleston State House occurred in 1756. In 1786 the South Carolina Assembly voted to move the state capital to Columbia. South Carolina is 32,020 sq. mi. and is ranked … Read more
  • Tennessee
    Tennessee was founded on June 1, 1796. Nashville is the capital of Tennessee. Tennessee is 42,180 mi². Kentucky and Virginia border Tennessee in the north, North Carolina in the east, Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi in the south, and Arkansas and Missouri in the west. Population Tennessee has 11 electoral votes. Tennessee is 93% rural and 7% urban The average household income in Tennessee is $54,833In Tennessee, state … Read more
  • Texas
    It was founded on December 29, 1845Austin is the capital of TexasTexas is 268,597 square milesTexas shares its border with the four US states of Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and New Mexico. Population Texas has 38 electoral votes 85% of texas is Urban15% of texas is Rural The average household income in Texas is $63,826In most states, a wildlife management agency sets hunting regulations. These agencies will … Read more
  • Virginia
    Virginia was founded on June 28 1788 the name of the capital is Richmond. Virginia is 42,774.2 sq mi Maryland borders Virginia to the northeast, the Atlantic Ocean to the southeast, North Carolina and Tennessee to the south, Kentucky to the west, and West Virginia to the northwest Virginia has 13 electoral votes. Virginia allows any voter to request a ballot by mail. You can also vote in … Read more
  • West Virgina
    Disputes over the borders of Virginia began in the early 17th century with conflicting royal charters that granted overlapping territory to multiple entities. It was not until the Virginia Constitution was ratified in 1776 that the borders solidified. Charleston, city, capital of West Virginia and the largest city in the state. It is situated in the Allegheny Mountains. West Virginia is 24,038 mi². It’s bordered by Ohio, Pennsylvania, … Read more